Jesse James

Jesse -This weeks star play!
 Welcome to this weeks Science of Soul Blog and again thank you for all the positive feed back. The Podcast's seems to be going from strength-to-strength and many thanks as always to Mickey for all the work he does to make it possible for us to share the music we love.

Lina - Recommended
In this weeks show we will be featuring Jesse James' release from Soul Junction records and thanks to Dave Welding for making this great album available. Please give it your support because product like this tends to no be around for too long and you can get it direct from www.souljunctionrecords.com, these guys work hard for very little reward to make material like this available to us. Otherwise not many new release's around at this time of year, so that gives me chance to revisit a few albums that were issued during the course of 2012 such as; Vick Allen's Soul Music, Lina's Chronicles of a Lady Songbird and Maverick Gaither's Be My Music, and all from 'indie'  labels whilst the majors gave us Eric Benet's fine outing titled The One and likewise Neo soulman Dwele's Greater Than the One.

Be My Music LP, on my playlist
Glad to see the interest shown in the interviews that are on the Blog site, we are hoping to make more available in the not to distant future. Also soon a Podcast special with the Wilbre Records Story, myself and Mickey are about to start production on this, so it will be available in a few weeks. I was sad to hear of Dee Harvey's passing on  the 1st. of December, Harvey was just 47 years old, a talent that was never quite fulfilled having only released one album on Motown in 1991 (an unreleased 1998 album recently slipped out on the Net) I think there was much more to come from Dee, our thought's are with his family at this time.

Once again it's time for the music so sit back relax and enjoy.

Tracklisting for Sunday 09-12-12

Hour One
01 - Switch - I Wanna be Closer
02 - Vick Allen - Soul Music
03 - Kevon Edmonds - Oh
04 - Jesse James - When We Become One
05 - Maverick Gaither - For The Love Of My Life
06 - Curtis Mayfield - Back To The World
07 - Leroy Hutson - Lovers Holiday
08 - Anthony David - Get Around
09 - The Whispers - Song For Donny
10 - Donny Hathaway - What A Woman Really Means
11 - Lina - I Wont Go Down
12 - Eric Benet - News For You
Hour Two
13 - Major Harris - I Got Over Love
14 - The Ojays - Cry Together
15 - William Bell - Bad Time To Break Up
16 - Dallas White - Oo Sexy Lady
17 - The Independents - Could'nt Hear Nobody say
18 - Earth Wind Fire - Thats The Way Of The World
19 - Keith Sweat - Candy Store
20 - Will Downing - Brooklyn Breezes
21 - Cameo - Hangin Down Town
22 - Dee Harvey - Leave Well Enough Alone
23 - Dwele - Love Triangle

Jesse James Bio

Jesse James
Deep soul singer Jesse James was born in 1943 in El Dorado, AR, with the handle James McClelland. He moved to the Bay Area while still a child, and came up during the early '60s singing in nightclubs (where his name was changed by an MC who couldn't pronounce his given name).

He recorded a few singles for the area labels Shirley and Hit (several with guitar work from Sly Stone), then made the big time when he switched to 20th Century. "Believe in Me Baby, Pt. 1" was a modest pop and R&B hit during 1967, and his self-titled debut LP followed the next year.

His biggest hit, 1970's "Don't Nobody Want to Get Married, Pt. 2," reached the R&B Top 20 for the ZEA label, and he continued recording during the '70s and '80s for T.T.E.D. and Gunsmoke. The latter was the label for full-lengths like 1988's I Can Do Bad by Myself and 1993's Operator Please Put Me Through.  Full biography/discography  uk label

No comments:

Post a Comment